My baby…Who’s Now My BIG Girl…

Where her story begins…

bunI don’t remember life before I got pregnant with Abby. That’s when life really started for me. I was so ecstatic when I took that test…and it was positive!! WOW!! Pregnancy was pretty uneventful…I was sicker than a dog the first two months…I lost 7 pounds in like two weeks I think. I couldn’t keep anything down. But I didn’t care…I knew that every time I puked…it was because she was growing strong and healthy. And the heartburn…OH MY WORD THE HEARTBURN!! Other than that it was all just a piece of cake. UNTIL…I hit the 33 week mark…I went in for my regularly scheduled check-up and had mentioned to the good doc that I had been having cramp like pains and severe back pain the night before. He decided to go ahead and give me a full exam to check things out. Turns out I was dilated to a 4!! Not good with 7 weeks still to go. He told me to go immediately to labor and delivery and get checked in. So…I got up there…got checked in and placed in a triage bed. A nurse came over to hook me up to the monitor belts and decided to check me again. It had only been 45 minutes since I’d seen the doctor at this point. I was already dilated to 7-8…and was having absolutely no pain. 1-monthI don’t know how but they managed to keep labor at bay and I stayed laid up in that hospital being poked and prodded and stuffed with medication for 2 weeks. It was horrible…and the only thing that kept me from going insane was feeling my Abby rolling around in my belly and kicking the crap out of me!! 🙂 She was so strong and I knew she’d be just fine. She was finally born on May 12, 2004 at 12:26 pm. She was beautiful and it was the most amazing experience in my life. She was five weeks early…was over 6 pounds and got a 9.9 apgar score from the Neo-natalogist who was in the room to tend to her after her birth. He wasn’t needed. She was perfect!!

6-MonthsSince that day she has been a constant joy in my life. She is hilarious…and emotional…and loving…and affectionate…and smart…and animated…full of passion and attitude…and love. She’s inquisitive and so eager to learn. She melts my heart with just one look and gets me so heated with one smart mouth comment!! 😉 There is no one who loves that child more!! I never even knew my heart could love and hurt so much at the same time. It’s hard to explain…But any mom out there knows what I’m talking about.

1-yearShe used to say ‘toe-pt toe-pt’ when she was trying to say ‘ketchup’ and ‘muck’ when she was trying to say ‘milk.’ She would try to sing ‘twinkle-twinkle little star’ and it would come out ‘winka winka winka up’ and you NEVER asked her to tell you what a duck says or get her to say ‘blue shirt.’ 😉 Now she says words like ‘antagonizing’ and uses it correctly…she can write her alphabet and sound out words…she can do basic math problems…she amazes me…and she’s about to start kindergarten…KINDERGARTEN PEOPLE!! No one ever explained to me the joy and simultaneous heartache that I would feel watching her grow up. I wouldn’t trade any moment for anything in the world. Happiness and love…that’s what I see when I look at her and that’s what I feel every time I think about her. But I don’t want to think about her starting school. Don’t get me wrong…I am so excited for her but it was literally just yesterday that the doctor put her on my stomach and she was all slimy and gross and beautiful…wasn’t it?…wasn’t it?

2-yearsShe starts school in 16 days…I’m not ready…yes I am…no I’m not. Ugghhh…YES I AM!! She is going to do great and I have to remind myself that children are gifts from God and a temporary assignment. It is my job to train them up in the way they should go and when they are grown they will not stray from it. That’s what my Jesus tells me. It’s just so hard to let them go…and even little steps such as the first day of kindergarten is a small step in a long process of letting them go. She is smart…and beautiful…and outgoing…and already full of ambition at the young age of 5. She can be ANYTHING in this world she wants to be…she told me once on Wednesday and twice yesterday that she wants to be a doctor so she can take care of me when I’m sick.

I guess all doctors started out in kindergarten…5-year

Good luck my beautiful baby girl Abby…Mommy loves you even more than these words can describe!

There is no limit to how your story will unfold!!

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Brooke@ymail.com said,

    sweet words, friend…


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment